2011/12 NSTF-BHP Billiton Awards – RSSAf Winners

Jun 28, 2012 Comments Off on 2011/12 NSTF-BHP Billiton Awards – RSSAf Winners by

The Royal Society of South Africa congratulates all winners and we are particularly pleased that RSSAf Fellow Professor David Glasser and RSSAf Member Dr Amanda Weltman are the winners in their respective categories.

Outstanding contributions to science, engineering, technology and innovation (SETI) were acknowledged at the 14th NSTF-BHP Billiton Awards gala dinner held in Gauteng on 21 June 2012. The 12 awards were presented by the Honourable Minister of Science and Technology, Ms Naledi Pandor.  Winners in the respective categories announced were:

SETI Award Winner

Professor David Glasser FRSSAf

To an Individual for an outstanding contribution to SETI over a lifetime:
Professor David Glasser FRSSAf, who is internationally recognised for ground-breaking research in design and reactor theory, and synthesis processes that produce energy from waste.  Nominated by Prof. Diane Hildebrandt FRSSAf, Director of the Centre of Material and Process Synthesis and SARChI Professor of Sustainable Process engineering, University of the Witwatersrand

TW Kambule Award: To an Emerging Researcher for an outstanding contribution to SETI through Research and its Outputs – over a period of up to six years after award of a PhD or equivalent in research – sponsored by the NRF:

TW Kambule Award

Dr Amanda Weltman

Dr Amanda Weltman, for the development of the Chameleon Mechanism, which has provided a locally testable theory explaining the mysterious force causing the universe to accelerate – so-called Dark Energy.  Nominated by Prof. George Ellis Hon. FRSSAf, University of Cape Town

Notice Board

About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
Comments are closed.