RSSAf Announces Medal winners for 2015

Oct 08, 2014 No Comments by

The Royal Society of SA is delighted to announce the winners of its prestigious Medals for 2015 :

John F. W. Herschel Medal : in recognition of Highly Distinguished Multidisciplinary Contributions to the furtherance of Science, to : Professor Michael William Feast FRSSAf, Astronomer and Honorary Professor, University of Cape Town and Senior Research Associate at SA Astronomical Observatory (SAAO)
The award is made for Professor Feast’s multidisciplinary contributions to science in South Africa, his international standing and research productivity as both a physicist and an astronomer, in particular his significant contributions to setting the groundwork that eventually led to construction of the Southern African Large Telescope (SALT).   For more information on Michael Feast

Meiring Naude Medal : in recognition of Outstanding Early Career Contributions to the furtherance of Science, to :
Dr Grant Theron, Senior Research Officer in the Lung Infection and Immunity Unit in the Department of Medicine at the University of Cape Town.   The award is made for his considerable contributions in the field of the diagnostics of tuberculosis and his research productivity, which indicates that he shows every indication of becoming a future leader in medical science both nationally and internationally. For more information on Grant Theron

Notice Board

About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
Comments are closed.