RSSAf Medal Awards for 2017

Oct 31, 2016 No Comments by

The Society is pleased to announce the following Medal Awards for 2017: 
John F. W. Herschel Medal in recognition of Highly Distinguished Multidisciplinary Contributions
to the furtherance of Science, to : Professor Michael Wingfield FRSSAf
Professor Mike Wingfield FRSSAfFounding Director of the Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute (FABI) at the University of Pretoria and current President of International Union of Forest Research Organizations (IUFRO). The award is made for Professor Wingfield’s exceptional contribution to science in South Africa and his long service and highly successful career embracing the disciplines of Forest Pathology, Forest Entomology and Mycology and his infectious enthusiasm for the training of students and pioneering research. More about Mike

Meiring Naude Medal in recognition of Outstanding Early Career Contributions to the furtherance of Science to: Dr Heinrich Badenhorst, Senior Lecturer, SARCHI Chair for Carbon Materials, University of Pretoria. The award is made to Dr Badenhorst for his significant contributions to the understanding of graphite and other carbon materials in their various forms. Under his leadership his research group has rapidly grown and is poised to become a world renowned centre of excellence in carbon materials research. More about Heinrich 

Hearty Congratulations to both winners of these prestigious awards.

News of Fellows/Members, Notice Board

About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
Comments are closed.