RSSAf School Essay Competition

Sep 11, 2012 Comments Off on RSSAf School Essay Competition by

The  Society’s School Science Essay Competition again attracted 140 entries from schools nationwide.   The two top essays will be published in the Transactions of the Royal Society of SA later this year.   In the meantime RSSAf Fellows  Peofessors Ed Sturrock and Jane Carruthers; and Members: Dr Edith Elliot, Prof Theresa Coetzee and Manoj Chiba have been busy presenting prizes at schools.

The two RSSAf Trophies go to the schools of the top two essay winners, this year Katrina  Lehmann-Grube at Wynberg Girls’ High School in Cape Town and Lauren Alston at Danville Park Girls’ High School in Durban.

For the full results go to : Essay Competition Results

Below : Prize-giving at St Anne’s College(l-r) : Mrs Sandra Schwartz (HoS Physical Science), Prof. Theresa Coetzer (Biochemistry, University of KwaZulu-Natal, MRSSA), Elizabeth Halley-Stott (Grade 10 whose essay “Captain of all these men of Death”: what is required to turn the tide against tuberculosis (TB) in South Africa? won the 2nd prize in that category) and Tinuke Eboka (Grade 10 won a merit prize for her essay in the same category).
Essay Competition Prize Giving at St AnnesBelow is Council Member Dr Edith Elliott with 1st Prize winner Lauren Alston (L) and Merit Prize winner Yuvna Balgobind (R) from Danville Park Girls’ High School.

Prizes at Danville Park

Below is Professor Ed Sturrock handing out prizes and the School Trophy to Wynberg Girls’ High School – here seen from left : Ed, Tarryn Beattie, Katrina Lehmann-Grube and Head Mistress, Ms Harding.

Prize-giving at Wynberg

Notice Board

About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
Comments are closed.