WINNERS 2016/17 NSTF-South 32 Awards

Jul 03, 2017 No Comments by

The NSTF-South32 Awards, was held at a prestigious Gala Dinner in Gauteng on Thursday, 29 June 2017. It is the 19th celebration of this flagship project of the National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF).

congratulates all winners (see full list) and is delighted that those below are counted among RSSAf Fellowship:

TW Kambule-NSTF Awards 
for research and its outputs by an individual over a period of up to 15 years after award of a PhD or equivalent 
Prof Aletta Schutte FRSSAf – Unit Director: Hypertension and Cardiovascular Disease, South African Medical Research Council; and Chair: DST / NRF South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI) in Early Detection and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease in Africa; and Professor in Physiology, Hypertension in Africa Research Team, North-West University (NWU)

Management and related SET activities by an individual over the last 5-10 years          

Prof João Rodrigues FRSSAf – Professor: Theoretical Physics; and Head: School of Physics; and Deputy Director: National Institute of Theoretical Physics; and Director: Mandelstam Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)

Engineering capacity development by individuals over the last 5-10 years
regardless of nationality or citizenship, who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in increasing the participation of young researchers (sponsored by Eskom)           

Prof Diane Hildebrandt FRSSAf – Professor: Chemical Engineering; and Director: Material and Process Synthesis Research Unit, University of South Africa (Unisa); and Director: JMDD Energy (Pty) Ltd

NSTF-GreenMatter Award
towards achieving biodiversity conservation, environmental sustainability and a greener economy to either an individual or an organisation (sponsored by GreenMatter)

Prof George Ekama FRSSAf – Professor: Water Quality Engineering, Universty of Cape Town

Research leading to innovation
– corporate organisation by a team or individual              

Prof Eugene Cloete FRSSAf for his teabag water filter invention, Rotoscope and other projects, Vice-Rector: Stellenbosch University

Communication for outreach
and creating awareness by a team or an individual

DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Strong Materials (CoE-SM) team, University of the Witwatersrand – Prof Lesley Cornish FRSSAf, Professor: Physical Metallurgy, and Director: DST/NRF CoE-SM, and Director: African Materials Science and Engineering Network;


News of Fellows/Members, Notice Board

About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
Comments are closed.