Results of Essay Competition!

Feb 07, 2018 No Comments by

Here are the results of the Royal Society National School Science Essay Competition for South African School Pupils. The competition is currently sponsored by the Claude Leon Foundation  To all participants – many thanks for entering, we do hope that it has been of benefit educationally as well as financially.

Topic 1 :‘Should bottled water be banned in South Africa?’

*First Prize: Uzma  Anwarey, Grade 12, Ficksburg  High School, Ficksburg

Second Prize:  Emma Geyser, Grade 11, Southdowns College, Gauteng

Third Prize: Jenna Mayson, Grade 10, Beaulieu College, Gauteng

Merit Prizes:  Reabetswe Monaledi, Southdowns College, Gauteng

                         Linda Mashale, Phalaborwa Primary School, Limpopo


Top Teacher: Andre Dreyer, Ficksburg High School, Free State


Topic 2 : ‘Is Science humankind’s greatest achievement?’

*First Prize:, Kayla Lindsay, Grade 11, Grade 11, Reddam House, Durban

Second Prize:  Mieka Roebert, Grade 12, Wynberg Girls’ High, Cape Town

Third Prize: Margareta Bosch, Grade 12, Wynberg Girls’ High, Cape Town

Merit Prizes: Krista Matsila, Grade 10, Beaulieu College, Gauteng

                        Nicole Penberthy,


Top Teacher: Mr Shaun van Wyk, Reddam House, Umhlanga, KZN


Topic 3 : ‘How will the Fourth Industrial Revolution benefit South Africa?’

*First Prize: Gary Louw, Grade 12, Curro Grantleigh School, KwaMbonambi

Second Prize:  Jessica van Wyk, Grade 10, Beaulieu College, Gauteng

Third Prize: Anri Steynberg, Grade 11, Southdowns College, Gauteng

Merit Prizes: Hlumelo Mkhize, Grade 11, Epworth High School, Pietermaritzburg

                        Amelie Malherbe, Bryandale Primary School, Johannesburg


Top Teacher: Mr Andrew Meintjes, Curro Grantleigh, KwaMbonambi, KZN


* Pupil’s essay is published in the Transactions journal and their schools get the RSSAf/Claude Leon Foundation trophies.


The Royal Society is delighted to announce the following five Fellows:

Prof Montaz Ali, Professor of Computational and Applied Mathematics, University of the Witwatersrand
Prof Mathan Nieuwoudt Bester, Retired Emeritus Professor, University of Pretoria
Prof Jasper Knight, Professor of Physical Geography, University of the Witwatersrand
Prof Peter Geoffrey Ryan, Director of FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology, University of Cape Town
Prof Armanda Duarte Slager- Bastos, Professor of Zoology, University of Pretoria


Notice Board, RSSAf Talks

About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
Comments are closed.